Current Group Members

PD Dr. Olga Shishkina

Olga ShishkinaOlga Shishkina studied mathematics at the Lomonosov Moscow State University until 1987. In 1990 she received her doctorate in scientific computing from the Moscow University for Telecommunication & Informatics. After being a senior lecturer at Rybinsk Aviation Technological Academy until 1994, she worked as a researcher at the Lomonosov Moscow State University until 2002 and at the DLR Göttingen until 2014. In 2009 she habilitated in fluid mechanics at the TU Ilmenau and in 2014 also in mathematics at the University of Göttingen. In 2014 she became Heisenberg fellow and joined the MPIDS where she leads the Theory of Turbulent Convection group.

Dr. Xuan Zhang Xuan Zhang

Xuan Zhang received her master in 2013 and doctorate in 2017 from the University of Michigan-Dearborn. Her PhD research was on the numerical investigation of convection in flows of liquid metals subjected to extremely strong magnetic fields. In September 2017, she joined the group at the MPIDS to work on the project of rotating turbulent thermal convection at large Rayleigh numbers.

M. Sc. Lukas ZwirnerLukas Zwirner

Lukas Zwirner studied physics at the Otto-von-Guericke University of Magdeburg and received his Master of Science in December 2015. For his Master thesis he simulated the chain fountain, using a two-dimensional discrete element method. In April 2016 he started his PhD studies on turbulent heat convection with a focus on the numerical investigation of inclined Rayleigh–Bérnard cells.

M. Sc. Philipp Reiter Philipp Reiter

Philipp Reiter studied Aerospace Engineering at the Braunschweig University of Technology and graduated as M. Sc. in November 2017. In his study thesis he investigated the laminar to turbulent transition for a reentering space vehicle. In Juli 2018 he joined the group as a PhD student, where he numerically investigates the behavior of horizontal convection flows.

Former Group Members

Dr.-Ing. Mohammad Emran Mohammad Emran

Mohammad Emran studied Computational Sciences in Engineering at Braunschweig University of Technology and received M. Sc. in June 2005. From October 2006 he was a PhD student at the Institute of Thermodynamics and Fluid Mechanics, Ilmenau University of Technology and was awarded a PhD in turbulent convection in December 2009. After completion of PhD, he was working as a postdoctoral fellow at the same institute until February 2016. From April 2016 to December 2019, he worked in the group at the MPIDS as a postdoc.

Dr. Susanne Horn Susanne Horn

For her PhD work Susanne Horn investigated the influence of non-Oberbeck–Boussinesq effects on Rayleigh–Bénard convection in liquids and rotating turbulent thermal convection, in combination with considerable code development. She received her doctorate in physics from the University of Göttingen in 2014 and went on to work as a research associate at the Imperial College London in the Department of Mathematics. She worked as a postdoctoral scholar at the University of California, Los Angeles from 2016-2019. In July 2019, she became Senior Lecturer at the University of Coventry, UK.

Dr. Sebastian Wagner Sebastian Wagner

Sebastian Wagner received his doctorate in 2014 from the University of Göttingen. His PhD research was carried out at the DLR in Göttingen and was on the numerical investigation of turbulent thermal convection in different setups. From July 2014 until September 2015 he continued his work within the DFG project on the influence of the wall roughness on heat and mass transport as a postdoctoral researcher. He now works for Audi AG in Ingolstadt.

M. Sc. Minxin HeMinxin He

Minxin He joined the group in November 2015 as a Master student in mathematics of Georg-August University of Göttingen. Her Master thesis was devoted to Rayleigh–Bénard convection in large Prandtl number fluids and on computational grid optimization for direct numerical simulations of turbulent thermal convection.


Robert EckePeter FrickRodion StepanovOleg Zikanov

Dr. Robert Ecke Dr. Peter Frick Dr. Rodion Stepanov Dr. Oleg Zikanov